Drinking Laws in Montgomery County, TX
While some laws in the United States are universal and held up across all 50 states – like the official age for alcohol consumption and the laws against driving under influence – some laws are peculiar to specific states. Not only can laws differ on the state level, but laws can also vary across counties within the same state! So, what is acceptable in regard to alcohol consumption laws in California might not be the same as in Texas. Moreover, what is acceptable in Liberty County, TX, might not be acceptable in Montgomery County, TX. These laws are put in place according to both the population and the beliefs of the people in that particular state or county. Here are some of the laws guiding alcohol consumption in Montgomery County, TX:
Sale of Liquor
The sale of packaged alcohol (beer and the like) is illegal on Christmas Day. It is prohibited on Saturdays between 3:00 AM Saturday night to 8:00 AM Sunday. The sale of alcohol to anyone below the age of 21 is prohibited; you will have your license revoked and you will be punished under the law. The sale of alcohol to a person who is already intoxicated is prohibited. Trying to purchase alcohol for consumption when you are already intoxicated is prohibited. The sale of alcohol for consumption to a person who is already behaving in a disorderly manner is prohibited. If found wanting, legal actions will be taken.
Alcohol consumption is prohibited for people under 21 years of age. Consumption of alcohol within hours that falls under the prohibited time is prohibited, and legal actions will be taken against the offender. There is a 1.5 hour of grace after the hours allowed to consume and sell alcohol. where all forms of alcohol should be taken off the table. During this grace period, you are allowed to finish any alcohol that has already paid for. If you are found purchasing alcohol after this grace period, you would be punishable under the law. You must not give out alcohol for consumption as a giveaway prize in games that are gambling inclined. Some of these games include pinball, slot machines, and any other related devices.
Licensing and Registration Laws
If you intend to purchase four gallons or more of beer for the sake of consumption, you would need to present a valid form of identification and you will have to fill sign a keg registration form. You might be charged a small fee for the keg registration, which you will have to pay if you are taking the keg with you.
Alcohol purchase for consumption at events you purchase from either a Montgomery County retailer who has a license to sell alcohol for off-premises consumption. A manufacturer who has a distribution license, or from a Montgomery County Department of Liquor approved dispensary. Consuming alcohol not bought from a licensed place, on the premises of the licensed place is prohibited.
It is illegal for the owner of this licensed place to allow this. As it is illegal for the consumer to consume alcohol in the licensed place. If you are found wanting in any of the categories, you will be punishable under the law.
While these laws seem like a lot, when you look at them, they are for the safety of the people. As a result, it will do you good to follow these laws, as there are punishments for breaking nearly everyone. There is a limit to the things you can do with alcohol; these laws are put in place to enforce these limits.
Now that you understand the alcohol consumption laws in Montgomery County, TX, head on over to your local Zipps Liquor in Montgomery! We also have locations in Conroe, The Woodlands, Magnolia, and Willis.
Visit your local Zipps Liquor store to stock up on your favorite beer, wine, & spirits!