Alcohol Consumption Laws In Dayton, TX
For those keen on visiting Dayton, Texas, it’s important to become familiar with local laws. Texas is not just known for being a popular state, it is known for its differing laws in certain counties as far as alcohol is concerned. Dayton is a city in Liberty County, where standard Texas alcohol laws apply.
The Minimum Age
People, especially teenagers and young adults, are curious to know the age limit for being around anything that has to do with alcohol (including buying and selling it). For starters, the general law regarding the consumption of alcohol in Dayton is identical to federal U.S. law – a person must be 21 or older to consume alcohol. But, there are exceptions to this. Minors can drink alcohol in the presence of consenting and supervising family members, with parents accepting responsibility for the actions of the minor(s) in their care. However, those minors must be on their property or any leased to them. It is also against the law to make alcohol available to anyone who is a non-family member and younger than 21, regardless of whether that’s on your property or with permission from a consenting parent.
Selling and Consuming Alcohol
It’s interesting to note that as with virtually every part of Texas, selling packaged liquor is prohibited on Sunday. This same law applies to Dayton. You can purchase packaged liquor between the hours of 10 am and 9 pm from Monday to Saturday. For packaged beer and wine, things are slightly different. They can be sold on Sunday between the hours of 7 am and midnight, and also on Mondays to Saturday between 7 am and 1 am.
Packaged liquor is prohibited from being sold on some holidays including New Year’s Day, Christmas, Thanksgiving Day, and December 26. If you’re 16 and looking for work, you’re in luck as you have to be 16 or older to sell beer and wine in stores. However, to sell hard alcohol, you have to be 21 or older.
If you’re worried about drinking while you’re out and about in Dayton on Sundays, note that drinking at licensed liquor sellers is still allowable even on Sundays. For instance, some Sunday brunches serve alcoholic beverages with meals starting from 10 am on Sunday.
Drinking and Driving
Alcohol and getting behind the wheel don’t mix. You’d be putting yourself and others at risk. As with the whole state of Texas, Dayton frowns upon this practice and duly imposes the prohibitions that come with a Blood Alcoholic Content (BAC) of 0.8 percent or higher. For commercial drivers, it’s even lower at 0.4 percent. If you’re 21 and under, any amount of alcohol detected in your blood will have you facing hefty consequences. If you’re caught violating any of these laws, you’ll face certain penalties for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), which will depend on the circumstances involved and the judge assigned to your case.