Alcohol Consumption Laws in Trinity, TX
The small town of Trinity, Texas is located over 80 miles north of Houston. It has a population of 2,697 and is home to a 100-year-old schoolhouse called Old Red, which is now used as a haunted house. The town may be small, but it makes up for its size with character and history.
Trinity was a timber center and once had 30 sawmills in operation in its heyday. If you are planning on visiting Trinity, make sure to brush up on local laws around drinking.
21 is the legal age to drink or purchase alcohol in the United States. However, in Texas, there are certain exceptions to this law. Texas is one of ten states in the United States that allow minors to drink. But, this is only as long as they will supervise by a family member. That family member then must take full responsibility for the minor and their actions.
Meaning, if something were to happen while the minor is under the influence of alcohol, then it falls on the family member to take responsibility.
You have to understand the basic rules about buying liquor in Texas. Beer and wine are sold Monday through Friday from 7 AM to midnight. Consequently, on Sunday, beer and wine sells from noon until midnight.
On the other hand, buying Liquor in Texas is a whole different ball game. Liquor can only be sold in package stores. Package stores are stores that sell alcoholic drinks that are sealed so that customers can drink them elsewhere. However, Liquor stores also cannot be open on days or hours when certain alcohol is prohibited.
If they sell more than just alcohol, such as wine or beer, they still need to be closed when required. Also, They do not allow liquor sales on Sundays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year’s Day.
On Sundays, you are allowed to drink at certain restaurants after 10 AM. It is also legal to drink on Sundays after 10 AM during sporting events, festivals, or wine tastings.
An open container is an alcoholic drink that has been previously opened. Drivers and their passengers cannot be within reach of any open container of alcohol. If you are going to travel with open containers, put them in the trunk or as far back as possible. However, If you are caught with an open container. Whether you’re the driver or the passenger, you will pay a fine of up to $500.
Drinking and Driving
If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, you are going to be arrested. Moreover, the penalty for driving while intoxicated (DWI) varies. If you plan on having a night out, be smart and hail a taxi, or have a friend pick you up. It is not worth the hassle.