Drinking Laws in Navasota, TX
Navasota, Texas was named “The Blues Capital of Texas” in honor of Mance Lipscomb, a Navasota native and blues musician. Navasota is just over 70 miles northwest of Houston, Texas and is home to many historic landmarks. The city has some laws that differ from other states, such as alcohol consumption laws. Here are the alcohol consumption laws in Navasota, TX.
In the United States, it is illegal to drink if you are under the age of 21. However in Texas there are exceptions to this law. Minors are allowed to drink if they are supervised by family members or if the minor is married, by their spouse. That family member or spouse then must take full responsibility for the minor’s actions. If anything were to happen while the minor was under the influence of alcohol, then it falls on the family member or spouse to take responsibility.
Trying to buy alcohol in Texas can be a little complicated if you aren’t familiar with liquor sale laws. Beer and wine are sold during the weekday starting at 7 AM and ending at midnight. Sundays are a different story. On Sundays, beer and wine are sold from noon until midnight.
In order for you to buy liquor in Texas, you must go to a package store. Package stores are stores that sell alcoholic drinks but those drinks are then taken somewhere else, like your home. Liquor stores also cannot be open on days or hours when certain alcohol is prohibited. If a liquor store sells wine, beer and spirits, then they must be closed on days when selling spirits is not allowed. If you find yourself heading to a liquor store on Thanksgiving or Christmas Day, then you’ll be gravely disappointed. Liquor stores are closed on those days as well as New Year’s Day and Sundays.
Sundays are open for drinking but only at certain restaurants and during certain events. If you are at a restaurant and plan to drink on Sunday, then you must accompany your drink with food. It is also legal to drink on Sundays after 10 AM during sporting events, festivals, or wine tastings.
If you have a previously opened alcohol bottle in your car, like wine or spirits, then that is an open container. Drivers and their passengers cannot be within reach of any open container of alcohol. Put any opened containers in your trunk or if you don’t have one, put them as far back as possible. If you are caught with an open container, whether you’re the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $500.
Drinking and Driving
Drinking and driving is illegal. If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, you are going to be arrested. Be smart, and plan an alternative way home if you plan on having a night out in town.
Navasota, Texas is the place to be for a taste at some history. Stop by to see its beautiful bronze statues or grand Victorian homes. Just make sure before you visit to brush up on local laws.