How to Get a Liquor License in Polk County, Texas

Liquor Discounts

liquor license polk county texas, zipps liquor, liquor store, liquor store near me

If you are starting a business and selling alcoholic beverages, then getting a liquor license is a must. Regardless of whether you are starting up a restaurant, bar, club, or liquor store in your neighborhood, then all states, counties, and districts in America will require that you get a liquor license before you are permitted to sell alcohol in your establishment. 

If you have a Texas-based business, you need to get a liquor license that will allow you to legally sell liquor. In Texas, the body in charge of this is the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC). 

So if you want to become an alcohol vendor, this post will help guide you on how to get through this process!

Is your business in Polk County? If you are starting a business that sells liquor in Onalaska, Blanchard, Livingston, or any of the surrounding areas, Zipps Liquor is your best choice for a wholesale liquor distributor. Once you secure your liquor license, check out Zipps Liquor for your wholesale liquor needs! We offer affordable pricing and a huge selection.

Why Is A Liquor License Necessary?

In the U..S., liquor licenses are issued to alcohol vendors according to the laws of the state where the business operates in. Each state has its unique regulations regarding the sale of alcoholic beverages. Counties and other municipalities may have their own local regulations.

The process of getting a liquor license is tedious. It aims to ensure that establishments that get them also abide by all of the governmental regulations. In the end, these governmental regulations aim to protect the customers.

Regulations help to enforce responsible consumption of alcohol for the protection of life and property. Additionally, regulations ensure that alcohol will not reach individuals under the legal drinking age. They also determine how much to charge, the types of alcoholic beverages, the businesses allowed to sell, etc. The act of abiding by all necessary regulations doesn’t just stop at getting a license. Rather, a vendor will have to make sure they stay compliant. Otherwise, they risk losing their license which will lead to the business being shut down. 

There are 2 classes of liquor licenses.

The first is off-premise licenses for stores where the beverage will be consumed outside the licensed establishment. Secondly, there is an on-premise license for businesses where the beverages are consumed on the licensed premises. Also, various types of liquor licenses regulate the type of alcohol that is to be sold. The most common type of liquor license is the restaurant liquor license. This allows vendors to sell all types of alcoholic beverages including wine, beer, and liquor. Ultimately, this is similar to the tavern license. Other types of licenses include: beer and wine, and a server license that require servers or bartenders to get a license.

Basic Requirements

So, after you have decided on the type of license you might need, there are some basic requirements that you have to undergo to get your application for a liquor license approved. In Texas, you need to first provide evidence that you are above 21 years of age. In addition to this, you will have to indicate if you have violated state liquor laws within the past 2 years. If either of these applies to you, then you will not be eligible for a license in Texas. In Polk County, you need to visit the zoning commission and get proper zoning approval from the municipal authorities. Before getting a zoning approval, the local zoning department will check out your location and the legal distance away from public places like: parks, churches, and schools. This will assist you in determining the type of license you will need to apply for. 

After determining the type of license, you will need to now apply for your license. This will require that you have accurate documentation for your business which will include: your zoning permit, health permits, building permits, leases, and employer information. Before your application will process, the local authority might require a background check to verify the information you provided. It is important to note also that you might need to pay a processing fee. It is best that before applying for a liquor license, you find out about all the documents you need and obtain them before starting this process. 

How Much Does A Liquor License Cost In Polk County?

The cost of a license depends on the type of license you need, and the type of alcoholic beverage you want to serve. A license in Polk county can cost anywhere from $140-$1,365 (bar/restaurants serving beer only being the lowest and bar/restaurants selling beer, wine, and spirits being the highest).

How Long Does It Take To Get A Liquor License in Polk County, Texas?

The liquor license application isn’t only expensive. It can also be a stressful process because licenses need to ensure that liquor vendors abide by regulations. In Polk county, the application could take up to 90 days (3 months) to process. Also, you need to renew your license annually.

Before you can get to serve and attract customers with all the delicious types of drinks you plan to have on your menu, you must get a license. We hope you find this guide of how to get a liquor license in Polk County Texas is helpful, and wish you the best of luck with your business.

Once your liquor license is secured, you will need a liquor distributor. Choose Zipps Liquor to be your liquor distributor and enjoy low prices and a large selection. Learn more, or contact us to see our pricing sheet.

Want first dibs on all our specials?
Subscribe to our newsletter!

"*" indicates required fields

Alcohol preferences
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

No spam. Unsubscribe at any time.
By subscribing, you agree to our Terms.