How To Get A Liquor License In Nacogdoches County, TX
You need to acquire liquor license if you want to open a restaurant or business that sells liquor in Nacogdoches County. In Texas, the sale of liquor is regulated by Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC).
What you need to do so you don’t get shut down and face some legal consequences. Keep reading because this post will help guide you how to get through this process!
Is your business in Nacogdoches County? If you are starting a business that sells liquor in Nacogdoches or any of the surrounding areas, Zipps Liquor is your best choice for a wholesale liquor distributor.
Why do you need a liquor license to sell liquor?
In U.S., liquor licenses are issued to alcohol vendors according to the laws of the state of the business location. Each state has its unique regulations regarding the sale of alcoholic beverages.
The process of getting a liquor license is tiring. It is created so that the businesses that get them also respect the government regulations. The purpose of these governmental regulations is to protect customers.
Regulations help to enforce responsible consumption of alcohol for the protection of life and property. Regulations ensure that alcohol is not sell out to individuals under the legal drinking age. They will also determine how much to charge, the types of alcoholic beverage, the businesses that can sell, amongst other regulations.
The act of abiding by all necessary regulations doesn’t just stop at getting a license. Rather, a vendor will have to make sure they stay compliant, or risk losing their license which will lead to the business being shut down.
There are 2 classes of liquor licenses. The first is off-premise licenses for stores where the beverage is consume outside the licensed establishment. Second, there is an on-premise license for businesses where the beverages are consumed on the licensed premises. Also, various types of liquor licenses regulate the type of alcohol that is to be sold.
The most common type of liquor license is the restaurant liquor license, which allows vendors to sell all types of alcoholic beverages including wine, beer, and liquor. This is similar to the tavern license. Other types of licenses include: beer and wine, and a server license that require servers or bartenders to be licensed.
So, after you have decided on the type of license you might need, there are some basic requirements that you have to undergo to get your application for a liquor license approved.
In Texas, you need to first provide evidence that you are above 21 years of age. In addition to this, you will have to indicate if you have violated state liquor laws within the past 2 years or was convicted of any felony in the past 5 years. If either of these applies to you, then you will not be eligible for a license in Texas.
In Nacogdoches County, it require you to visit the zoning commission and get proper zoning approval from the municipal authorities. Before getting a zoning approval, the local zoning department will check out your location to determine that is zoned for commercial use and is the legal distance away from public places like: parks, churches, and schools. Getting your zoning approved will assist you in determining the type of license you will need and be allowed to apply for.
After determining the type of license you need, you will then fill out the application. This will require that you have accurate documentation for your business which will include:
- Your zoning permit
- Health permits
- Building permits
- Employer information
Before your application will be process, the local authority might require a background check to verify the information you provide. It is important to note also that you might pay a processing fee. It is best that before applying for a liquor license, you find out about all the documents you need and obtain them before starting this process. This will help reduce the hassles that are involve in the process.
How Much Does A Liquor License Cost In Nacogdoches County?
The cost of a license is determine by the type of license you need. The type of alcoholic beverage you want to serve. A license in Nacogdoches county can cost anywhere from $140-$1,365 (bar/restaurants serving beer only being the lowest and bar/restaurants selling beer, wine, and spirits being the highest).
How Long Does It Take To Get A License?
The liquor license application isn’t only expensive but can also be a stressful process because licenses are valuable, to ensure that liquor vendors abide by regulations. In Nacogdoches county, the application could take up to 90 days (3 months) to process. Also, you are to renew your license annually.
Don’t try to bend the laws that govern the distribution of liquor in Nacogdoches County, TX, because the government takes the liquor license very seriously. But no matter how stressful acquiring a liquor license might be, it is worth it for your business.